Kyoto University Asian Studies Unit


Kyoto University Asian Studies Unit (KUASU) was established in December 2012 as an interdisciplinary network organization within Kyoto University consisting of six graduate schools (the Graduate school of Letters, Economics, Management, Asian and African Area Studies, Education, and Agriculture), two research institutes (the Center for Southeast Asian Studies, the Institute for Research in Humanities), and the Institute for Liberal Arts and Sciences. We hope to accomplish three missions through close collaboration with the global network of partner universities and research institutions.

1. Creation of a world-leading research center for integrated Asian studies through international and interdisciplinary collaboration
2. Global human resource development through international collaborative programs for graduate and undergraduate studies
3. Construction of an international common foundation in Asian research to enable mutual understanding and problem-solving